If your Uber account is disabled, it may be because you violated one or more of Uber’s community guidelines.
Violations of Uber’s community guidelines and non-discrimination policies can result in permanent account deactivation.
In some cases, deactivations can be reversed by taking improvement courses, appealing to Uber, or updating out-of-date personal information.
Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.
One of Uber’s most mysterious and frustrating processes is how it will sometimes disable the accounts of both riders and drivers.
It’s sometimes difficult to figure out why an account has been disabled, or how to reactivate it again. But there are a few common reasons why an account might be deactivated.
Why an Uber account may be disabled
Whether for a driver or a rider, a violation of Uber’s community guidelines can result in the temporary or permanent deactivation of your account.
On its community guidelines page, Uber writes that “Not following any of our guidelines may result in the loss of access to your Uber accounts. This may include certain actions you may take outside of the app, if we determine that those actions threaten the safety of the Uber community, or cause harm to Uber’s brand, reputation, or business.”
But what exactly are these “certain actions,” and how do you avoid them? It takes a little extra digging to figure that out, but in the end, deactivation usually boils down to violating three key community standards, and/or failing to meet performance standards.
You can find a full listing of Uber’s community guidelines at this link. Below, we’ll break down how each main category of Uber’s guidelines can relate to account deactivation.
This guideline, labeled “Treat everyone with respect” on Uber’s website, spans violations from keeping an untidy car, to discrimination and sexual assault.
Specific offenses under these same categories include rude or threatening behavior about a person’s perceived gender, sex, religion or abledness; unwelcome flirtation or come-ons; and unwanted contact through texting, calling, or visiting a rider after the ride is completed.
This guideline, labeled “Help keep one another safe” on the company’s site, covers a lot of territory, ranging from physical to personal safety.
Offenses that can result in account deactivation include carrying out-of-date vehicle information, disobeying traffic laws, misusing the app through account sharing, and using the app while under the age of 18. Even if the person who orders a ride is over 18, minors are not allowed to ride unaccompanied.
Using video or dashboard cameras to record a ride is permitted — though local laws dictate whether or not a driver must disclose the recording to passengers — but broadcasting a rider’s image or audio is against community guidelines.
Follow the law
Another serious offense a rider or driver can make is violating local or federal laws. Many of these laws are also covered by Uber’s previously mentioned guidelines as well.
For example, adhering to appropriate car seat use might also be considered a safety violation, and refusing to provide a …read more
Source:: Businessinsider – Life